Awards & Bursaries
back to health professionals menu

There are many awards and bursaries available for nurses and allied healthcare professionals. Some of these may be awarded according to nursing discipline, specialist field or NHS related work. Some examples are outlined below:

The nursing discipline

The Royal College of Nursing website

Queens Nursing Institute Innovations Award

The Nightingale Fund Council. Post registration education for nurses. Write to the Honorary Secretary, The Nightingale Fund Council, 108 Brancaster Lane, Purley, Surrey, CR8 1HH.

The Nursing Times and Nursing Standards Nursing Awards – annual events – watch the press for details.

The British Journal of Nursing

The Florence Nightingale Foundation. The Foundation raises funds to provide scholarships for nurses and midwives to study at home and abroad, to promote innovation in practice, to extend knowledge and skills to meet changing need.

Variety Club
Paediatric nurses could apply.

Specialist areas of practice

Arthritis Research Campaign have numerous educational and research awards. For information see:

European League Against Rheumatism. A number of awards to travel to visit units or attend meetings

National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society Patient in Focus Award: Launched in 2003. Bursary of £1,500; to be used for education purposes. For information see:

Health Care Awards

Look at healthcare websites such as the Department of Health

Health and social care Awards for innovation

The King’s Fund Educational Bursaries.

British Sjorgren’s Syndrome Assocation. For HCPs interested in undertaking work that will benefit patients with Sjorgren’s syndrome. Write to The secretary, PO Box 10867, Birmingham B16 OZW.
Tel: 0121 455 6532

Susan Oliver Associates


© copyright Susan Oliver 2008